domingo, octubre 21, 2007

Bjork - Gling-Gló

Gling-Gló, released in 1990, is the only album by Björk Guðmundsdóttir & Tríó Guðmundar Ingólfssonar, consisting of Guðmundur Ingólfsson on piano, Guðmundur Steingrímsson on drums, and Þórður Högnason on bass. Gling-Gló is an Icelandic onomatopoeia whose English equivalent is "Ding Dong," or the sound that a bell makes.

This album was recorded on September 1 and September 3, 1990 at Stúdio Sýrland. It was produced by Tómas Magnús Tómasson, the bassist of Stuðmenn, who also did the mix for this album.
Gling-Gló contains Icelandic themes, and most of the songs are sung in Icelandic. There are also three versions of English language songs by other artists: “Ruby Baby,” by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, and the jazz standard “I Can’t Help Loving That Man”, by Oscar Hammerstein II and Jerome Kern; and in Icelandic “Það Sést Ekki Sætari Mey”, which means in English “There Is No Sweeter Girl”, and is misattributed in the album notes and on the CD as having been written by "Rogers/Hammerstein", but is in reality a completely reworded cover of "You Can't Get A Man With A Gun" by Irving Berlin from the famous musical Annie Get Your Gun. There is also the Icelandic version of Sway, Í Dansi með Þér.

Track Title Length
01 Gling gló 02:44
02 Luktar-Gvendur 04:05
03 Kata rokkar 02:56
04 Pabbi minn 02:44
05 Brestir og brak 03:23
06 Ástartröfrar 02:43
07 Bella símamær 04:00
08 Litli tónlistarmaðurinn 03:23
09 Það sést ekki sætari mey 04:00
10 Bílavísur 02:38
11 Tondeleyo 03:29
12 Ég veit ei hvað skal segja 03:03
13 Í dansi með þér 02:26
14 Börnin við tjörnina 02:46
15 Ruby Baby 04:00
16 I Can't Help Loving that Man 03:40


2 comentarios:

Anónimo dijo...

lástima que ya no lo tengas al aire.... oajala puedas subirlo ve por la reseña que es genial, no obstante yo solo tengo el track "bella simamaer"..en fin ojala pronto

Kiek dijo...

Hola, ya actualicé el link: